h1

Brad Paisley

July 11, 2009

Last night I saw Brad Paisley for the third time. Jimmy Wayne and Dierks Bentley opened for him. Brad Paisley does not let me down when he performs. I saw Jimmy Wayne in 2005 when he opened for Lonestar, and I enjoyed his CD back then. We missed some of his performance, including his biggest hit off that CD (I wonder if he played it?) – but saw him play his current radio hit. Dierks was pretty good as well.

I think it’s amazing how much (at least for me) music is intertwined with life. I’ll hear certain songs that take me back to senior year of high school… or back to certain people or events. Jimmy Wayne has a song called “Stay Gone” that takes me back several years to a certain somebody. And when Brad sang “When I Get Where I’m Going” there’s a line about walking with his grandfather, and he’ll match him step for step. My mind fell upon my own grandfather, he died 20 years ago this week.

All in all, it was a good concert. Nothing could beat the guys with the lampshapes on their heads in front of us, though. If you’re a Brad Paisley fan, you get it. We got it, and we laughed.

Leave a Reply

