h1

All around update

June 11, 2009

By my quick estimation, it’s been 3 weeks or so since I posted about Lily finding a home with us. She’ll be living next door, though we are dog sitting right now. She’s always going to be “my” dog, but she’ll much better off next door. However, she quickly wrapped most of us around her paw, and she’s been spoiled rotten.

05240911

I am about to finish my first year as a teacher, and I couldn’t be more pleased with how things turned out. It’s been a long, hard year (complicated by the cross-country move, replanning and having the wedding) but it’s been very rewarding. I cannot imagine myself at another place in my life, and am surprised at how happy I thought I was before- compared to the happiness I feel now. For the first time in many years, my life feels truly complete and satisfied. I have a million plans for next year, most of which will probably never have a chance to see the light of day, but the fact that I have them and I am already excited about next year makes me happy.

In the last few weeks, our community struggled with the disappearance and eventual death of a small girl, and it’s been an interesting experience. Though I do not know the family personally, I do feel bad about the girl’s death. Don and I even went out with a large group of firefighters on a search through some heavily wooded areas and fields before her body was discovered. Right now, the police aren’t saying much, which I guess is ok. They need to do their investigation.

I was finally convinced to read the Twilight saga, and finished all 4 books in less than a month. Actually, the first took the longest to read, since I read the last 3 in the past 6 days. Yes, they were that addicting. Yes, I enjoyed them, though I did struggle through parts in each of them. I wasn’t exactly thrilled with how the final book went, and often found myself wishing it was just done already, but not because it was a page turner. There were parts where I was just ready to be done with it. I won’t give anything away, but I think the main problems in the first 3 books were much better in terms of a story. I bought the movie last week and rewatched it. I still enjoyed it, and even got Don to watch it with me. However, the Cullens will never replace Angel and Spike in my heart for my #1 vamps. Angel was just so much better at being a tortured, brooding vampire.

Don and I saw the new Star Trek, and were pleasantly surprised. We walked in expecting a C movie and walked out with an A… maybe a B+. It was GOOD. We have been and always shall be Star Trek fans (I’m a huge dork), and were pleased with the way that the movie played out. I have been itching to see that one again, as well, but will probably wait for the DVD. I am looking forward to seeing some of the summer movies (Harry Potter mostly), and am glad I will be able to take advantage of mid-week, mid-afternoon crowds and prices.

It’s been exciting to watch the Red Wings play in the playoffs. Last year, I was in Denver while they played the finals, and am glad to be back in Wingnut territory for the playoffs. Game 7 is always nervewracking, but oh-so-entertaining.

I am also looking forward to a slew of summer activities including a vacation with my family, at least one Tigers game, the DMB concert, some weddings and a few other things. I also have a dozen crafting projects that I need to get under way, as they have been sitting dormant for far too long.

The last month has been a whirlwind and I am ready for some relaxation! One more day!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

