h1

Spring Break

April 15, 2009

I’m very excited to be on Spring Break right now. Don and I took a trip back to the bed and breakfast where we were married and enjoyed last weekend with no cell phones or computers. We were the only guests staying at the bed and breakfast and just wanted to get away for a couple of days. We spent some time reading (though both of our books were awful), watching TV, and walking in the woods. My biggest goal was to finish hand-stitching the binding to my quilt, the final step to completion!

Mom and new baby horse

My favorite horse at the bed and breakfast


I really am a tree hugger at heart. 🙂

 

As for completing my quilt, I am very happy with how it turned out in the end. The border and binding really pull everything together. The batting I chose was kind of lightweight, so this doesn’t feel too heavy, but it’s very comfortable for laying on the couch.

 

 

Here’s a picture of the mitered corners. I wasn’t totally sure how to do these, but I did the best I could and they turned out ok. By the time I got to this, class was over, so I had to try and make sense of the notes I’d scribbled down a few weeks before.


It took the cat all of 15 seconds before he had to come and lay on the quilt. So much for avoiding cat hair…

As for the rest of Spring Break, I will be doingsome house work and also some lesson plans. I am hoping to get things really laid out for the next 2 months of school, so that I will have less stress the last few weeks. We’ll see. I’m also planning on spending my days watching chick flick movies that I don’t normally have the time to watch.

One comment

  1. […] to do it instead of plan lessons, I am so glad I did it. In the past year I completed 3 quilts: 1 for me, 1 for my sister and 1 to donate to Soldiers’ Angels for their holiday drive. […]



Leave a Reply

