h1

Quilting Update

March 7, 2009

It’s been about 6 weeks since I started by quilting class, and I have to admit, I am a little sad that my last class is next week. I have learned a lot, and have really enjoyed the 2 hours a weeks spent with my friends in class. I fell behind in class when I got sick a couple of weeks ago… I stayed in bed for about 4 straight days… so I’m not quite where I would like to be now, but I’m moving along. I’ve completed 11 of the 12 squares for my first quilt. I’ve also completed 2 others that I thought I was going to use, but decided they didn’t fit the motif, so I set them aside. And, I spent one afternoon ripping apart blocks that had mistakes in them, and fixing them. Those things probably didn’t help me to stay on track with the rest of the class.

However, here are some pictures of my completed blocks. I will be using a bright pink for the sashing between the blocks, which you can see in some of the pictures.
 
The first block I completed

 
A variation of the same star pattern

 
Another variation of the same star… but much more complicated! I love this block, now that I’ve finally figured it all out.

 
A variation of the Friendship Star block

 
Another Friendship Star variation. The original Friendship Star is quite plain, so I liked the variations I found.

 
One of the geometric patterns I tried. I think this one will be awesome without the sashing between blocks, and just the lines connecting together. This is one pattern I’m going to do again for sure.

 
Probably my best block yet- because the lines all matched up the way they were supposed to.

I still have a couple of other ones I need to upload- the Farmer’s Daughter, Summer Winds, Friendship Star (the boring original!), and the Ohio Star I’m still working on. I’ll try and get pictures uploaded soon!

Leave a Reply

