h1

Quilting class

January 28, 2009

Kim and I decided to take a quilting class together through community education. We had our first class last night, and we are both excited about it so far. Our teacher gave each of us a small collection of fabric to get us started. It’s expensive fabric. Each bundle came as several fat quarters in the same coordinating collection.

Our homework for next week is to purchase more fabric to go with the fat quarters, and decide what sort of quilt blocks we want to work on. Yesterday we went through star blocks and next week we’ll do some historical patterns from the Underground Railroad and Civil War. We are also going to learn applique, too. I”m not sure what kind of quilt I want to do. There are a couple of star patterns that I’ve always wanted to try, so I think I’ll do that. I also have to decide if I want to make all of the blocks the same, or make a sampler.

Here are a couple of squares I’m thinking about doing:

Leave a Reply

