h1

One week down…

September 13, 2008

I’ve officially completed my first week as a teacher. I can honestly say that I wasn’t nervous once this week- except before I left for school. Once I got there, it was all good. I am teaching one regular class (world history/geography), and three classes in the Expelled Student Program. The whole basis for the program is to keep kids in some school when they get expelled. They can earn credits and even get to eat lunch with the “regular” kids in the school. And, thus far, I am enjoying the expelled kids even more.

It’s hard to believe that I finally have a teaching job. It may not be the most ideal job for me to be teaching expelled kids, but at this point, I’m happy to have a job, and even happier to have a job that I’m enjoying. I want to make a difference for these kids. I want to get them out of this program and back into a regular school without missing so much that they get behind and drop out.

Leave a Reply

