h1

All in a Day’s Work….

January 25, 2008

I feel like I haven’t updated in forever even though it’s really only been a couple of days. Work has been CRAZY. So much for a slow season- at least for me. Last winter I had time to do things that I can’t during the season: research prices on materials and safety equipment, rearrange my systems for how I do things, archive the files from the previous year to make room for the new ones… etc. I have accomplished none of these things this year. In fact, my desk calendar is still in the shrink wrap, under my desk where it has been since Kim ordered it in November. I’ve spent the last 2 months playing catch up from always being behind. I’ve also been running around like a chicken with my head cut off trying to find documents for our accountant. I’ve been giving out new cell phones to everyone which includes me having to call Nextel everytime to activate the new SIM cards and have them transfer the old numbers to the new ones. And, this week, I’ve been doing nothing but editing and printing our customer contracts for next season. My eyes hurt from staring at the computer screen non-stop for the last week. Luckily, I think I have the last of the edited and will get them printed tomorrow. Not a moment too soon.

My cake class this month is going excellent. The students are awesome and their cakes have been so much fun. They want me to bring in a cake to decorate with them next week when they do their final cakes. Might be a good time to try out a new recipe that Justin could use for his wedding cake that I’m hopefully going to be doing in June. This weekend, I’ll be doing a demo at a different Michaels store that is desperate for a Wilton instructor. I’m going to try to help out and teach at least Course 1 once a month there until they get a permanant instructor. I’m hoping to take a class myself at a cake supply shop, but I need to make sure I can afford it and that I won’t get burned out by being too busy. We’ll see…. I need to sign up soon. I can’t believe this month is almost over.

I can’t believe that Heath Ledger died. Really, I can’t. And I read today that my favorite people from Westboro Baptist Church are planning to protest at his funeral because he played a gay man in Brokeback Mountain. {sigh} If you don’t know about this group of people, I’ll give it to you in a nutshell- they are a religious extremest group that has become famous because they’ve gone around protesting at military funerals for soldiers killed in action in Iraq and Afghanistan. They believe that God is punishing the US because we allow people to be homosexuals. I’d heard about these people, but it didn’t really hit home until they showed up at MY church in MY hometown to protest a kid who went to MY high school. I joined a huge group of citizens from my town and the Patriot Guard Riders (www.patriotguard.org) outside the church when they showed up. Here’s the article about them protesting at Heath Ledger’s funeral: http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/22813570/.

My mom had to remind me today of what my favorite movie quote of all time says when I was so upset about the church protesters going to a funeral like this- but also the military ones. It comes from The American President, and is spoken by Michael Douglas, who plays the president:
“America isn’t easy. America is advanced citizenship. You gotta want it bad, ’cause it’s gonna put up a fight. It’s gonna say, ‘You want free speech? Let’s see you acknowledge a man whose words make your blood boil, who’s standing center stage and advocating, at the top of his lungs, that which you would spend a lifetime opposing at the top of yours. You want to claim this land as the land of the free, then the symbol of your country can’t just be a flag; the symbol also has to be one of its citizens exercising his right to burn that flag in protest.’ Show me that, defend that, celebrate that in your classrooms. Then you can stand up and sing about the land of the free.”

I know that quote is true, but sometimes it sure is hard to live by.

Leave a Reply

