h1

Reflecting on the past year

December 30, 2007

I am sure that as I type this, there are dozens of important things that I’m going to forget that happened this year. But, looking back, here are the things that affected me the most this year, the biggest memories I can think of, and anything else that comes to mind as I get ready to sleep before a long drive across the country:

– Don lost his job and spent several months on unemployment looking for a new job. Despite at least a dozen interviews in the media world, he doesn’t get hired. This was a tough 6 months for us, but we pulled through it in the end.

– Matt and Bill came out to visit for their Spring Break and we spent a few days in Manitou Springs being tourists. We went to the top of Pikes Peak via train and could see all the way to Kansas and New Mexico. I also visited Canon City and the Royal Gorge Bridge with Bill.


– Don’s grandma was killed in a car accident in the Spring. It was a very emotional and frustrating time as his aunt was also seriously injured. She is doing much better, but the guy driving the car that hit them will probably get off with very little punishment despite the fact that not only did Don’s grandma die, so did his passenger.

– We visited Nebraska and Wyoming for Oregon Trail stuff and went to the Daddy of Em All Rodeo in Cheyenne. Here’s me at the wagon ruts that still exist from the Oregon Trail.

– I got promoted at work. It hasn’t been easy, but it’s been ok. Hard work actually does pay off at this company and I’m lucky to be a part of it. The extra pay has also been nice. I lost two amazing co-workers in the process, as their quitting the company left me work to do. It’s been hard not having them around, and stressful without them for guidance, but I’m making it work.

– I started to teach cake decorating classes. It’s been so much fun and I’m so happy I took the plunge and started to teach. I’m gearing up to teach again in January.

– Went to Matt’s graduation in San Antonio. Even if the Air Force didn’t work out for him, I was so proud to be sitting there and watch him graduate from Basic Training. Plus, I got to visit the Alamo for the first time.

– THE ROCKIES WENT TO THE WORLD SERIES!!!!!!!!!!!! Our Rockies went from third place to the World Series in a matter of weeks. We, along with most of Denver, were walking on air, and I think we actually thought we could somehow will them to win in the end. In the end, they came up short (if they had just won ONE GAME I could have seen a World Series game as I had a ticket to game 5). It was an amazing time.

Overall, this year hasn’t been too shabby in a lot of ways. It was emotionally (and sometimes therefore physically) hard at times, and I honestly don’t think I could have done half of what I did without Don by my side. It’s also taken a lot of soul searching and relaxation techniques.

In 2008, there are similar things I want to accomplish. I want to get back into the habit of working out (I know, so typical). I want to keep improving my cake decorating skills, try new things and be the best teacher I can be. I want to keep writing to my soldier until he comes home, then adopt another one even if I never hear from them. I want to keep growing at my job, and no matter how hard it gets, figure out a way to make it work out and help the company keep growing. I want to travel the Oregon Trail from start to finish. I want to learn to accept change, hardships and the good times as a part of life and figure out how to fit all the pieces together without be stressed out all the time.

I figure that’s enough to keep me busy for awhile in 2008.  

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a160/angel27girl/BecatPikesPeak.jpg

Leave a Reply

